Blog

Titanium Cutting Boards: An Honest Review from a Wood Board Maker (2026)

An unbranded titanium cutting board beside a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board on a dark kitchen counter

Titanium cutting boards are easy to clean, they do not rust, and they are hard on your knives. Two independent tests found metal boards dulled knife edges far faster than wood, and America's Test Kitchen found that two of the three "titanium" boards it bought were stainless steel. Use one for raw meat if you like the easy cleanup. Do your daily chopping on wood.

Full disclosure: at Bevel & Bond we make end-grain hard maple boards in the USA, so we have a horse in this race. That is exactly why we read the test data instead of the marketing. We pulled the product pages for eight titanium brands, checked every claim we could, and put the numbers side by side. Here is what we found, including where titanium wins.

Titanium cutting boards: key facts (checked September 26, 2026)

  • Knife wear: in Prudent Reviews' test, titanium cost the edge 444 sharpness points, against 41 for edge-grain maple and 15 for end-grain walnut.
  • America's Test Kitchen rated all five metal boards it tested "Not Recommended" in July 2026.
  • Fakes are common: ATK found 2 of 3 "titanium" boards were stainless steel, and Tivano's own Amazon listing gives its material as "Alloy Steel".
  • Made in USA: none of the eight brands we checked claims it, including ChopChop USA.
  • Where titanium wins: no rust, no odor, dishwasher-safe, and about 44% lighter than stainless steel of the same size.
An unbranded titanium cutting board beside a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board on a dark kitchen counter
A plain titanium board next to our end-grain maple board. One is easier to wash. The other is easier on your knife.

Are titanium cutting boards worth it?

For raw meat and fish, a real titanium board is a reasonable second board. For daily chopping, no. Every independent test we could find shows metal boards dull knives much faster than wood, and you pay $60 to $159 for a board that makes your $150 chef's knife need sharpening sooner.

The pitch for titanium is hygiene: a non-porous surface that does not soak up juice, does not hold garlic smell, and goes in the dishwasher. That part holds up. America's Test Kitchen left metal boards damp overnight and found no rust, and lemon juice did no damage (ATK, July 2026). What the pitch leaves out is what a hard, flat metal surface does to a thin steel edge every time it lands.

If you want the hygiene without the knife damage, a well-kept wood board already gets you most of the way. Our healthiest cutting board guide walks through the food-safety research, and the short version is that an end grain maple cutting board, washed and dried, is a sanitary surface.

Do titanium cutting boards dull knives?

Yes, badly. Prudent Reviews ran 300 rocking cuts and 300 chops on each board and measured the edge with a BESS sharpness tester: titanium cost the edge 444 points, stainless 184, edge-grain maple 41 and end-grain walnut 15 (Prudent Reviews, September 2025).

Knife edge lost after 600 cutsBESS sharpness points lost. Higher means a duller knife.Wood boardsMetal and plasticTitanium444Stainless steel184Plastic (polypropylene)65Edge-grain maple41End-grain walnut15Source: Prudent Reviews, 300 rocking cuts plus 300 chops per board, updated September 2025.
In Prudent Reviews' test, the titanium board took about 11 times more off the edge than edge-grain maple, and about 30 times more than end-grain walnut.

America's Test Kitchen got the same answer a different way. They measured knife sharpness on an industrial tester before and after mincing parsley, dicing onions and breaking down butternut squash. The metal boards dulled knives sharply with every use, wood boards kept knives close to new, and ATK found no meaningful difference between titanium and stainless.

Close-up of a chef's knife edge on a brushed titanium cutting board, showing fine scratches in the metal
Every chop lands the edge on metal. The scratches you see in the board are only half the story; the other half is on your knife.

The reason is simple. A knife edge is a sliver of steel a few microns wide. On end grain, that edge slips between wood fibers that part and close again. On metal, the edge hits a surface that does not give, and the thin tip rolls or chips. Our why end grain is easier on knives article covers the wood side in detail, and our maple vs glass piece shows the same effect on the hardest surface of all.

Is titanium softer than a knife?

Yes, and it does not help. Grade 1 titanium measures about 120 on the Vickers scale, while kitchen knife steel at 56 to 62 HRC works out to roughly 613 to 746 HV, so the knife is 3 to 6 times harder. Sellers use that gap as proof titanium is "knife-friendly". The test results above say otherwise.

How hard is each surface? (Vickers, HV)Higher is harder. Knife steel converted from Rockwell C.Knife steel, 62 HRC746 HVKnife steel, 56 HRC613 HV304 stainless, annealed129 HVTitanium Grade 1120 HVSources: ASM and Smith Metal titanium data sheets, Elgin 304 data sheet, ASTM E140 conversion chart.
A knife edge is 3 to 6 times harder than a titanium board. It is also harder than stainless. Being softer than the knife did not save the edge in either test. Wood is measured on a different scale (hard maple is 1,450 lbf Janka), so it is not on this chart.

Two more numbers matter. Annealed 304 stainless steel measures about 129 HV, almost exactly the same as Grade 1 titanium, so "softer than a steel board" is not much of a selling point. And the ratio that matters to your knife is not hardness alone. A wood board lets the edge sink in a fraction of a millimeter. A metal board, soft or not, stops it dead.

Are titanium cutting boards safe and non-toxic?

Titanium itself is inert and widely used in food and medical equipment, so a genuine titanium board is not a toxicity worry. The honest caveats are about claims, not chemistry. We found no independent study showing a flat titanium kitchen board kills bacteria. The antibacterial research on titanium covers specially treated implant surfaces, not a sheet of metal on your counter.

So treat "antibacterial" on a titanium listing as marketing. "Non-porous and easy to sanitize" is the accurate phrase. ATK also saw streaks and splotches that hand-washing did not remove, and knife scratches that stayed after ten dishwasher cycles. Scratches in any board are where residue collects, which is why the USDA says to replace boards once they develop hard-to-clean grooves (USDA FSIS).

For wood, the question is covered in our are wooden cutting boards sanitary guide.

Is it really 100% titanium, or coated steel?

Often it is steel. America's Test Kitchen worked out each board's density from its weight and size, and only one of the three boards sold as titanium (Taima) came out as titanium. The other two were stainless steel, which ATK tied to their heavy weight and sub-$100 prices.

We found the same pattern on the listings we checked:

  • Tivano sells as a "TitaniumShield Cutting Board", but its own Amazon spec table lists the material as "Alloy Steel". Using the listing's own size and weight (12 x 8 x 0.06 inches, 0.74 kg), we calculated about 7.8 g/cm³. That is the density of steel. Titanium is 4.51.
  • Tibo's Amazon listing calls it a "titanium alloy surface" in one bullet and a "pure titanium side" in another. The other side is wheat straw.
  • Katori runs several websites that each claim to be official, and the board sizes on its site and on Amazon do not match.
  • Apex says it sells only on its own website and calls Amazon listings under its name replicas.

Three brands publish purity numbers: Taima says 99.89% Grade 1, ChopChop USA says 99.96% Grade 1, and Auntie Rue says Grade 1 with a material test report. We could not view any of the lab reports, so we are reporting the claims, not confirming them.

The home test is weight, not a magnet. Titanium weighs about 44% less than stainless steel of the same size. A magnet is unreliable, because 304 stainless is close to non-magnetic until it is cold-worked. If a "titanium" board feels surprisingly heavy for its size, it probably is not titanium.

Titanium vs stainless steel: which is better?

Real titanium, for one reason: it is about 44% lighter at the same size. On hardness, corrosion and knife wear, the two are close enough that it does not matter much. Both surfaces measure around 120 to 130 HV annealed, neither rusted in ATK's testing, and ATK found no meaningful difference in how they dulled knives. Prudent Reviews found titanium dulled more.

If you are buying a metal board anyway, pay for verified titanium only if the weight matters to you. If you are buying a metal board for knife reasons, do not buy a metal board.

How do Katori, Taima, Apex, KatuChef, Tivano, Tibo, Auntie Rue and ChopChop compare?

Here is every figure we could confirm from each brand's own pages or listing on September 26, 2026. "Not stated" means we looked and the brand does not say.

Brand Material, in the brand's words Grade Price Size Made where Guarantee Double-sided
Taima "Grade 1 Titanium (lab-graded 99.89%)" Grade 1 (claimed) $99 to $159 12x8, 14x10, 18x12 in Not stated Lifetime warranty on defects No
ChopChop USA "100% Grade 1 Pure Titanium (99.96% lab-verified)" Grade 1 (claimed) $79.95 to $149.95 11x7.9 to 18.1x12.2 in Not stated ("U.S. Company") 30-day money back Optional, wheat fiber back
Auntie Rue "Certified Grade 1 pure titanium" Grade 1 (claimed) $60 (was $99) 12x8 to 16x11 in, 1.5 mm Says forged in Seki, Japan 60-day money back Not stated
Apex "Grade 1 Japanese Titanium, completely uncoated" Grade 1 (claimed) USD not shown 10x6 to 18x12 in Titanium "sourced from Japan" Money-back guarantee Not stated
Tibo "titanium alloy surface" and "pure titanium side" Not stated $89.99 14.3x9.8 in Not stated 30-day money back Yes, wheat straw back
Katori "food-grade pure titanium" Not stated $35.90 (sale) 11.4x7.9 in Not stated 30-day money back Yes
KatuChef "99.89% Pure Titanium" Not stated Shown at checkout only 11.4x7.9 in Not stated 30-day money back Yes
Tivano Amazon spec: "Alloy Steel" None Not shown 12x8x0.06 in Not stated Not found Varies by listing
Bevel & Bond (maple, for reference) End-grain hard maple, Acer saccharum n/a $129.99 17x13x1.75 in USA 5-year warranty No, rubber feet
Entry price for one board, USDLowest single-board price on each brand's own store, September 26, 2026.Bevel & Bond (maple)Titanium brandsKatori (sale price)$35.90Auntie Rue$60ChopChop USA$79.95Tibo$89.99Taima$99Bevel & Bond 17x13$129.99Titanium boards shown at their smallest size; ours is one size. Apex and KatuChef did not show a USD price.
Titanium boards start cheap because they start small. Taima's 18 x 12 is $159 and ChopChop's large single-sided board is $144.95.

If you are set on titanium, Taima is the one board an independent tester confirmed as real titanium, and it carries the longest guarantee on this list. It also costs $99 to $159 and, like every metal board ATK tested, it dulled knives.

Want a board that keeps your knives sharp?

See the 17 x 13 x 1.75" end grain maple board: made in the USA, juice groove, rubber feet, finger grips, and hand-finished with Board Balm.

Is there a titanium cutting board made in the USA?

Not that we could find. None of the eight brands we checked claims to make its boards in the USA, and none states a country of manufacture at all. ChopChop USA's name suggests it, but its product pages say only "U.S. Company", and its Amazon listing names a different brand as the manufacturer. Apex and Auntie Rue name Japan as the source of the metal.

If "made in USA" is on your list, you are shopping for wood. Our end-grain maple board is made in the USA from North American hard maple, and our best made-in-USA cutting boards under $150 roundup covers the other makers who can say the same.

When does a titanium board make sense?

As a second board for raw meat and fish, or for travel and camping. That is the honest niche. A thin, light, non-porous sheet that goes straight into the dishwasher after raw chicken is a real convenience, and titanium's low weight makes it easy to pack.

Raw chicken on a metal cutting board beside diced vegetables on a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board
The one job where a metal board earns its place: raw meat on one board, everything else on wood.

Even then, use a knife you do not mind sharpening more often, and keep your good chef's knife on wood. Separate boards for raw meat and produce is good practice regardless of material; our separate cutting boards for meat and vegetables guide explains why, and how to disinfect a wood board after raw meat covers the wood side of that routine.

Titanium vs end-grain maple: which is better for daily prep?

End-grain maple, by a wide margin. In Prudent Reviews' test, end-grain walnut lost 15 points of edge against titanium's 444. End grain is the most knife-friendly wood construction there is, because the edge lands between the fibers instead of across them.

Macro view comparing end grain maple fibers with a scratched brushed metal cutting board surface
End grain on the left: fiber ends that part under the edge. Brushed metal on the right: a surface that keeps every scratch.

The trade-off is care. Titanium goes in the dishwasher. Maple does not, and it wants a proper dry after washing and a coat of Board Balm or mineral oil once a month (our dishwasher guide explains why). If you will not spend two minutes drying a board, you will not be happy with wood. If you care about your knives, you will not be happy with metal.

Our pick: the 17 x 13 x 1.75 inch end-grain maple board for everything, with a cheap second board for raw meat if you want one. Our end grain vs edge grain comparison explains why the construction matters as much as the wood.

Chopping fresh herbs and lemon on a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board with a tin of Board Balm
Daily prep on end-grain maple. The knife goes back in the block as sharp as it came out, or close to it.

Do titanium cutting boards scratch?

Yes. America's Test Kitchen found knife scratches in every metal board, along with fine metal shavings, and the scratches stayed after ten dishwasher cycles. The brushed finish on most titanium boards hides light marks at first, but it does not stop them.

Can titanium cutting boards go in the dishwasher?

Yes. ATK ran metal boards through ten dishwasher cycles, which cleared the stains that hand-washing left behind. This is titanium's strongest practical advantage over wood, which should never go in a dishwasher.

Are titanium cutting boards noisy?

Yes. ATK noted clanking during use and boards that slid unless anchored, and Prudent Reviews found stainless the loudest board it tested. A damp towel underneath helps with both.

How can you tell if a titanium cutting board is real?

Weigh it. Divide the weight by the volume (length x width x thickness); titanium comes out at 4.51 g/cm³ and stainless steel at about 8. This is the method America's Test Kitchen used. A magnet test is unreliable because 304 stainless is close to non-magnetic.

What is the best cutting board if you care about your knives?

End-grain hardwood. Both independent tests we found put wood well ahead of metal and plastic for edge retention, and end-grain walnut was the gentlest board in Prudent Reviews' test. We make an end-grain hard maple board for exactly that reason.

When was this article last reviewed?

This article was last reviewed and updated in September 2026. Brand specifications, prices and guarantee terms were checked on each brand's own site or listing on September 26, 2026. Titanium board prices change often and many run permanent "sale" pricing, so confirm on the brand's site before you buy.

What sources did we use for this review?

Every brand figure in this article comes from the brand's own page or listing, checked September 26, 2026.

Chop on wood. Your knives will notice.

Shop the end grain maple cutting board or browse the full collection

Every board ships hand-finished with Board Balm, in a black gift box, with a 5-year warranty.

Bevel and Bond end-grain hard maple cutting board, 17 by 13 inches

Made in the USA

Built for years of everyday cooking

Our end-grain hard maple board is 17 by 13 by 1.75 inches and just over 10 lbs, with a juice groove, non-slip feet, and a 5-year warranty. The upright grain lets your knife pass between the fibers instead of across them.

  • End-grain hard maple
  • 1.75" thick
  • 5-year warranty
See the end grain maple cutting board, $129.99

Not sure yet? Read customer reviews of Bevel & Bond cutting boards.

Bevel & Bond Butcher Directory Find a great butcher near you Great boards deserve great meat. Browse hand-checked local butcher shops by state, city, and specialty. Explore the directory
Previous
JK Adams Cutting Boards: An Honest Review from a Competitor
Next
Epicurean Cutting Board Review (2026): Honest Take from a Wood Board Maker