Blog

JK Adams Cutting Boards: An Honest Review from a Competitor

Chopping tomatoes and herbs on a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board, reviewed against JK Adams cutting boards

JK Adams makes some of the best maple boards in America, and their Maple Reversible Carving Board is the board we would tell you to buy for Thanksgiving turkey. It is also a 1.25-inch board built for carving, not an end-grain prep board. If you want an end grain maple cutting board for daily chopping at around $130, JK Adams does not sell one at that size and price. We do.

Full disclosure before you read another word: at Bevel & Bond we make end-grain hard maple cutting boards in the USA, so JK Adams is a competitor. We still think they deserve a fair hearing. A Vermont company that has been turning maple into kitchen tools since 1944 has earned it. Here is what their main board is, what it does better than ours, where ours wins, and which one belongs on your counter.

JK Adams vs Bevel & Bond: key facts (checked September 2026)

  • JK Adams: family-owned, made in Dorset, Vermont since 1944, lifetime guarantee on defects and shipping damage.
  • JK Adams' main board: Maple Reversible Carving Board, 20 x 14 x 1.25" ($135) or 24 x 16 x 1.25" ($155), edge grain by its photos, with a poultry well and juice trench.
  • JK Adams end-grain maple: $140 (16 x 10 x 1.5") to $340 (20 x 16 x 2"). Closest to ours in size: Infinity Edge 20 x 12 x 1.5" at $179.
  • Bevel & Bond: one end-grain hard maple board, 17 x 13 x 1.75", $129.99, with juice groove, rubber feet, finger grips, and a 5-year warranty.
  • Best for carving turkey: JK Adams. Best end-grain value for daily prep: Bevel & Bond.

What is the short answer on JK Adams cutting boards?

JK Adams is a family-owned, Vermont-made brand with a lifetime guarantee and an America's Test Kitchen carving-board win, and their boards are worth the money. Their best-known board is edge grain and built for carving roasts. Their end-grain maple boards are excellent and start at $140 for a 16 x 10, with the 20 x 12 (the closest to ours in size) at $179.

So the decision is simple. Buying a board to carve a 20-pound turkey twice a year? Buy the JK Adams. Buying a board you will chop onions on every night for the next decade? Buy an end grain maple cutting board, and ours is the one that gets you end grain at 17 x 13 x 1.75 inches for $129.99.

Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board, 17 x 13 x 1.75 inch hard maple with juice groove and engraved logo
The Bevel & Bond board: end-grain hard maple, 17 x 13 x 1.75 inches, $129.99. JK Adams' closest end-grain maple board in size is the Infinity Edge 20 x 12 at $179.

What is JK Adams' main board?

The JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board is the flagship. It comes in 20 x 14 x 1.25 inches for $135 and 24 x 16 x 1.25 inches for $155, and it carries 31 reviews at 4.9 stars on the 20 x 14 and 16 reviews at 4.94 stars on the 24 x 16 as of September 2026.

It is a clever board. One side has a shallow poultry well that cradles a bird or a roast so it stops skating while you carve. Flip it over and you get a flat surface with a deep perimeter trench. America's Test Kitchen measured the trenches holding more than half a cup of liquid, and the 24 x 16 is rated for turkeys up to 25 pounds. It ships finished in their mineral oil and beeswax blend, and they will engrave it for $25.

America's Test Kitchen has called it a longtime favorite in their carving board testing, praising it for being heavy enough to sit still on the counter and light enough to lift with a roast on top. JK Adams republished that review in August 2024. We ranked it high in our own best carving boards roundup for the same reason. It does its one job very well.

What does JK Adams do well?

Six things, and we mean every one of them.

1. Real Vermont manufacturing. JK Adams has built boards in Dorset, Vermont since 1944, and the company is still family owned. Their about page says more than 50 pairs of hands touch each board before it ships. That is not a label slapped on an import.

2. A lifetime guarantee. This is where they beat us, and we will say it plainly. JK Adams guarantees its products for life: if a board arrives damaged or shows a manufacturer's defect, they replace it. Our warranty is 5 years. Theirs is longer. Claims go through a web form with a photo, and they ask you to allow 2 to 4 weeks.

3. The best turkey board in the category. The poultry well plus a 24 x 16 surface is a combination very few makers offer. If carving is the job, this is the tool.

4. North American hardwood, sustainably harvested. JK Adams sources all of its hardwood in North America, and the shop runs close to zero waste. Offcuts become fuel to heat the building or sawdust for local farms.

5. Range. Maple, cherry, and walnut in end grain. Sizes from 12 x 12 up to 20 x 16 in their Professional line, plus pastry boards, cheese boards, and serving boards. If you want to outfit a whole kitchen from one maker, they can do it.

6. Personalization. Most boards can be engraved for $25, which makes them a strong wedding or housewarming gift.

Where should shoppers look more closely?

Four details matter before you click buy.

Side view of the Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board showing its 1.75-inch thickness and staggered end-grain blocks
End grain shows up as short staggered blocks of fiber ends, like the top of our board here. JK Adams' carving board is built from long strips running the full length, which is edge grain.

1. The flagship is edge grain, not end grain. The carving board product page does not state the grain orientation. The product photos show long maple strips running the length of the board, which is edge-grain construction. Edge grain is tough and cheaper to build, but your knife slices across the wood fibers instead of slipping between them. On a board you carve on a few times a year, that barely matters. On a board you chop on daily, it shows up in scarring and in how often you sharpen. Our end grain vs edge grain breakdown explains the difference in detail.

2. End grain costs more at JK Adams. Their Professional End Grain Maple Board runs $155 for 12 x 12, $235 for 16 x 16, and $340 for 20 x 16. The Infinity Edge End Grain Maple is $140 for 16 x 10 and $179 for 20 x 12 on its product page (their collection page showed $185 for the 20 x 12 when we checked). These are well-made 1.5- to 2-inch boards. They are also priced for buyers who already know they want end grain and do not mind paying for it.

3. The end-grain listings are bare. The Professional End Grain Maple and Infinity Edge product pages do not mention a juice groove, rubber feet, or handles. The Infinity Edge has rounded edges for lifting. If you carve juicy meat or work on a slick stone counter, check the photos before assuming those features are there.

4. The carving board is 1.25 inches thick. That keeps it liftable, which is the point for carrying a roast to the table. It also means less mass on the counter than a 1.75- or 2-inch board when you are pushing a chef's knife through a squash. Our cutting board thickness guide covers why that extra half inch matters.

How does the JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board compare to the Bevel & Bond board?

Numbers first, opinions after. We are putting JK Adams' flagship, their closest-priced end-grain board, and ours side by side.

Feature JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board JK Adams Infinity Edge End Grain Maple Bevel & Bond End-Grain Maple Board
Construction Edge grain (per product photos) End grain End grain, double glue-up
Size 20 x 14 x 1.25" or 24 x 16 x 1.25" 16 x 10 x 1.5" or 20 x 12 x 1.5" 17 x 13 x 1.75"
Cutting surface 280 or 384 sq in 160 or 240 sq in 221 sq in
Price $135 or $155 $140 or $179 $129.99
Wood North American maple North American maple Hard maple (Acer saccharum, 1,450 lbf Janka)
Juice groove Yes, flat side Not listed Yes
Poultry well Yes, reverse side No No
Non-slip feet No (reversible) Not listed Rubber feet standard
Grips Not listed Rounded edges Deep finger grips
Finish Mineral oil and beeswax Mineral oil and beeswax Hand-finished with Board Balm
Made in Dorset, Vermont Dorset, Vermont USA
Warranty Lifetime guarantee Lifetime guarantee 5 years
Engraving +$25 +$25 Not offered
Packaging Standard Standard Premium black gift box with care card
Board price, USDListed prices on jkadams.com and bevelandbond.com, September 2026.Bevel & BondJK AdamsJK Adams Carving 20x14$135JK Adams Carving 24x16$155Bevel & Bond 17x13$129.99JK Adams Infinity 16x10$140JK Adams Infinity 20x12$179JK Adams Pro Maple 16x16$235JK Adams Pro Maple 20x16$340The two carving boards are edge grain by their photos; the other five boards are end grain.
JK Adams' edge-grain carving boards sit right beside our end-grain board on price. Their end-grain maple starts at $140 for a 16 x 10 and climbs to $340.

Read the price chart carefully. JK Adams' edge-grain carving board and our end-grain board cost within $6 of each other. You are choosing between two different tools at the same price, not a cheap board and an expensive one.

Board thickness, inchesThicker boards carry more mass and move less on the counter.Bevel & BondJK AdamsJK Adams Reversible Carving1.25"JK Adams Infinity End Grain1.5"Bevel & Bond end grain1.75"JK Adams Pro End Grain Maple2"Thickness as stated on each product page.
The flagship carving board is the thinnest of the four at 1.25 inches. JK Adams' Professional end-grain boards are the thickest at 2 inches.

Which JK Adams board is the fair end-grain comparison?

The JK Adams Infinity Edge End Grain Maple 20 x 12 at $179 is the closest match on size. It is 20 x 12 x 1.5 inches, with 240 square inches of cutting surface and rounded edges for lifting. Ours is 17 x 13 x 1.75 inches, 221 square inches, a little over 10 pounds, and $129.99.

Theirs gives you 19 more square inches. Ours is a quarter inch thicker, adds a juice groove, rubber feet, finger grips, and a gift box, and costs $49 less. That is the trade in one paragraph. If you want a longer end-grain board with a lifetime guarantee, the Infinity Edge is a good board. If you want end grain with the working features included and $49 back in your pocket, ours is the better buy.

Step up to their Professional End Grain Maple 16 x 16 at $235 and you get a 2-inch, 13-pound slab with 256 square inches of surface. That is a serious board. It also costs $105 more than ours, and its listing shows no juice groove, feet, or handles.

Price per square inch of cutting surfaceListed price divided by length x width. Lower is better value.Bevel & BondJK AdamsJK Adams Carving 20x14 (edge)$0.48Bevel & Bond 17x13 (end)$0.59JK Adams Infinity 20x12 (end)$0.75JK Adams Infinity 16x10 (end)$0.88JK Adams Pro 16x16 (end)$0.92JK Adams Pro 20x16 (end)$1.06Surface area uses outer dimensions; juice grooves and wells are not subtracted.
Edge grain is the cheapest surface per square inch, as it should be. Among end-grain maple boards, ours costs $0.59 per square inch against $0.75 to $1.06 for JK Adams.

Looking for an end-grain maple cutting board made in the USA?

See the 17 x 13 x 1.75" end grain maple board: juice groove, rubber feet, finger grips, and hand-finished with Board Balm.

What do both brands agree on?

More than two competitors usually admit.

Both of us use North American maple. Both of us build in the United States. Both of us finish boards with a mineral oil and beeswax blend, because that is what works, and both of us tell you to hand wash, dry the board thoroughly, and never put it in a dishwasher. JK Adams says to condition weekly until the board is established, then as needed. We say the same thing in our cutting board oil guide, and our Board Balm is built for exactly that routine.

Bevel & Bond Board Balm, a mineral oil and beeswax cutting board conditioner, on an end grain maple cutting board
Both brands finish with a mineral oil and beeswax blend. Ours ships already conditioned with Board Balm.

That routine is not brand folklore. The USDA notes that wooden and plastic boards both wear with use and should be replaced once they develop grooves that are hard to clean (USDA FSIS cutting board guidance). The University of Maine Cooperative Extension recommends conditioning wood boards with food-safe mineral oil or beeswax about once a month and avoiding olive or vegetable oil, which can turn sticky and rancid (UMaine Extension bulletin 3108).

We also agree that a good wood board is a buy-once purchase. JK Adams talks about boards becoming heirlooms. We talk about the last cutting board you will buy. Same idea, different accents.

Who should buy a JK Adams board?

Anyone whose main job is carving. The Maple Reversible Carving Board in 24 x 16 is the board for a 20-pound turkey, a brisket, or a standing rib roast. The poultry well holds the meat still and the trench catches the juice. We do not make a board like it, and we will not pretend ours does that job as well. If you want one board for raw prep and carving both, our best cutting board for meat guide lays out the trade-offs.

Cutting raw steak on a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board with a juice groove along the edge
Steak prep on our board, with the juice groove catching the run-off. For a 20-pound turkey, JK Adams' poultry well is the better tool, and we say so.

Buyers who want a lifetime guarantee. If warranty length is the deciding factor, JK Adams wins that line of the table.

Gift buyers who want a name on it. $25 engraving on a Vermont-made board is a strong wedding gift.

Cooks who want walnut or cherry end grain, or a 20 x 16 slab. JK Adams' walnut end grain runs up to $425 for a 20 x 16.

Who should buy the Bevel & Bond board instead?

Home cooks who chop every day and want end grain without spending $179 to $235. End grain lets the knife edge slip between the maple fibers instead of cutting across them, so your knives stay sharp longer and the surface hides the cut marks.

Mincing garlic on a Bevel & Bond end grain maple cutting board with fresh herbs, everyday prep
Daily prep is where end grain earns its price: the knife edge lands between the fibers instead of across them.

Cooks with stone or quartz counters. Rubber feet are standard on ours, and a 10-pound board with feet stays put while you work. A reversible board cannot have feet, which is fine for carving and less fine for fast knife work on a slick counter.

Gift buyers who want it to arrive ready. Our board ships hand-finished with Board Balm, in a black gift box, with a care card. No extra conditioner to buy before you wrap it.

Buyers who would rather deal with a small maker. Bevel & Bond is run by its co-founders, and our 5-year warranty covers manufacturing defects.

What is our honest verdict on JK Adams?

JK Adams is one of the few brands in this category we would recommend without hesitation. Eighty-two years in Vermont, a family-owned shop, a lifetime guarantee, and a carving board that America's Test Kitchen keeps coming back to. That is a real company.

Their flagship is a carving board, though, and a carving board is a specialist. For daily prep, end grain is the better surface, and JK Adams charges $140 to $340 for theirs. Ours delivers end grain at 17 x 13 x 1.75 inches for $129.99 with the groove, feet, and grips already on it.

Our recommendation: own both kinds of board if you carve often. If you only buy one, and you cook most nights, buy end grain. The trade-off is warranty length. JK Adams guarantees for life, we cover 5 years, and you should weigh that honestly.

Are JK Adams cutting boards made in the USA?

Yes. JK Adams manufactures its boards in Dorset, Vermont, where the company has operated since 1944. It sources its hardwood from North American forests and remains family owned.

Is the JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board end grain?

No. JK Adams does not state the grain orientation on the product page, but the product photos show long maple strips, which is edge-grain construction. JK Adams sells end-grain maple separately in its Professional and Infinity Edge lines, priced from $140 to $340.

What warranty does JK Adams offer?

JK Adams offers a lifetime guarantee. If a product arrives damaged or has a manufacturer's defect, they replace it after you submit a warranty form and a photo, with 2 to 4 weeks allowed for processing. The guarantee does not cover boards bought second-hand. Bevel & Bond covers manufacturing defects for 5 years.

How much does a JK Adams cutting board cost?

The Maple Reversible Carving Board is $135 for 20 x 14 and $155 for 24 x 16. End-grain maple boards run $140 to $179 for the Infinity Edge 16 x 10 and 20 x 12, and $155 to $340 for the Professional line. Walnut end grain goes up to $425 for a 20 x 16. Prices were checked on jkadams.com in September 2026.

Is JK Adams or Bevel & Bond better for everyday prep?

For everyday chopping, we recommend end grain, and the Bevel & Bond 17 x 13 x 1.75" end-grain maple board gives you that for $129.99 with a juice groove, rubber feet, and finger grips. For carving roasts and turkey, the JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board is the better tool.

Which JK Adams board did America's Test Kitchen pick?

America's Test Kitchen has named the JK Adams Maple Reversible Carving Board a longtime favorite in its carving board testing, citing its weight, its poultry well, and trenches that hold more than half a cup of liquid.

When was this article last reviewed?

This article was last reviewed and updated in September 2026. JK Adams product specifications, prices, review counts, and warranty terms were checked against jkadams.com in September 2026. Prices and review counts change, so confirm on their site before you buy.

What sources did we use for this review?

Every JK Adams specification, price, and policy in this article comes from JK Adams' own pages, checked in September 2026.

Ready for an end-grain maple board you will use every day?

Shop the end grain maple cutting board or browse the full collection

Every board ships hand-finished with Board Balm, in a premium black gift box, with a 5-year warranty.

Which other cutting board brands have we reviewed?

We are working through every serious maker in the category with the same format: what they do well, where to look closer, a side-by-side table, and who each board actually fits. For the full field in one place, see our cutting board brands comparison and our best end-grain cutting boards roundup.

Bevel and Bond end-grain hard maple cutting board, 17 by 13 inches

Made in the USA

Built for years of everyday cooking

Our end-grain hard maple board is 17 by 13 by 1.75 inches and just over 10 lbs, with a juice groove, non-slip feet, and a 5-year warranty. The upright grain lets your knife pass between the fibers instead of across them.

  • End-grain hard maple
  • 1.75" thick
  • 5-year warranty
See the end grain maple cutting board, $129.99

Not sure yet? Read customer reviews of Bevel & Bond cutting boards.

Bevel & Bond Butcher Directory Find a great butcher near you Great boards deserve great meat. Browse hand-checked local butcher shops by state, city, and specialty. Explore the directory
Previous
The Best Thick Maple Cutting Board With a Juice Groove
Next
Titanium Cutting Boards: An Honest Review from a Wood Board Maker (2026)